New to this

Started by ForestDad, April 19, 2019, 03:10:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ForestDad

Hi all. This is my first time posting, I've read the guidelines, and I'm hoping I'm doing it correctly.

For a few months now, I've been struggling to support my ex-wife. We were high school sweethearts and she was my best friend... even during the divorce. We simply realized that we weren't a great match for each other, we had been unhappy for a long time, and lost hope that we could be happy together. We had tried our marriage for twenty years, but it didn't seem to be working, so we decided to try a new direction. We were excited for each other, and for the new lives ahead of us. We have three children together, two grown, and one teen.

But my ex suddenly started exhibiting paranoid and delusional behaviors. She believes she's being stalked by a man in another state, who sends her secret messages on twitter and controls radio stations and newspaper publications to harass her. She hasn't been diagnosed or treated for this illness. Although we've made efforts to get her into psychiatric care, she hasn't followed through.

This happened shortly after our divorce (actually it had started before the divorce, but I didn't know it was an illness then), and I have been wrestling with guilt that she is now alone, and without my income or health insurance. Recently it has escalated significantly, and her behavior has been wildly out of control. I've tried to intervene, but that was the wrong course of action, and now she perceives me as an enemy. I was advised by a mental health professional that it's best to not confront a person about their fantasy, but it's also not good to engage with them on it and validate the fantasy. It's a hard path to tread, and I couldn't manage it... She found out that I think she's having a psychological crisis, and she hates me for it.