Hi there.

Started by Eaubleu, September 04, 2019, 04:04:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Eaubleu

Hi All,

My jaw drop when I found this forum, I never thought that there was more people with similar life experiences like mine.

I am 46 and 25 years ago I decided to become an independent person from my family where children were considered an extension of the wishes and desires of their parents.

The cost I paid was enormous in terms of pain and suffering specially from the punishment that came from all my family and relatives. The harassment was endless: hundreds of  phone calls, unexpected visits, letters, etc. I was ostracized from my entire family.

However the worst punishment I received was the defamation from my parents.  My parents were important  members of the community  and socially powerful at the time. Both accused me of being from mentally ill, to a drug addict and a thieve to say the least. All of that was a non-sense as  I was a successful student of the best university of my country  which they stop paying as soon as  I became an “evil” son.  When you are 20 something years old there is no way to defend yourself from the bad things that a parent may say  about you. People always assume that a parent wants only the best for their kids so they tend to believe them.

I found this forum reading an article about the book “Done with the Crying” from Sheri McGregor. In my opinion that book is the ultimate way to defame globally your child as a way of punishment. I also found in Reddit the estranged son’s wife version of the story which is completely different than the one from Mrs. McGregor. Normal and sane parents will never tell to the world the disputes with their children as a way to protect them.  “Dirty washing should be launder at home” as the expression says.