Personal Introduction

Started by canadianunderground, January 03, 2023, 08:36:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

canadianunderground

Hey everyone! I have known about this website for a long time due to a therapist's recommendation, but I had been hesitant to check it out as I perceive a lot of online spaces to be quite toxic. However, nobody is as toxic as my family!

I am an artist and writer who lives in Canada, but was originally born in the USA. When I first moved here I truly fell in love with the city, but in recent years I think I've come to understand that it's the distance and freedom that are so good for me. I have a fiance who I love and we are supposed to get married this fall.

I was actually pretty unfamiliar with narcissistic personality disorder prior to first speaking with therapists about my family situation in 2012. In the decade since it has become clear that my mother is a pretty strong example, and in fact a lot of the issues I faced as a child are explained by her "FOG" in my life. The pandemic and the distance it imposed brought a lot of relief to me, but as restrictions waned and travel has begun (and my marriage is soon!) I have been struggling. In my immigration process, it was impossible for me to get documents from her on time. As always, she promised to financially support the wedding but has been strategically withholding funds in manipulative ways, and it's caused massive tension in our relationship.

I'm here on Out of the FOG to connect with people, vent a bit, and learn tips for how to keep her at bay :) Looking forward to meeting you all!

xredshoesx

weclome to the site canadianunderground,