Narcissist Company Owner

Started by thedoghousedweller, February 26, 2023, 11:38:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

thedoghousedweller

I have been on other threads dealing with an issue at home,  but now I need guidance on dealing with a workplace NPD monster.

I took this job 5 months ago and thought the owner was an upstanding man in the community.   I saw yellow flags, like he was digging for personal information about me and my wife, always talked about loyalty. 

But he went to my church,  was a deacon even.   The job was a pay cut for me with a heavy incentive for bonus if the company profited.

Then I studied the turnover.   Hardly anyone in a management position stayed a year.  He said we didn't have a good screening system for new hires.

Well, it's not profitable now , so my pay is terrible.  As the company goes through a downturn,  the owner is pointing fingers.   He wants seven people to sign a document authorizing him to deduct our pay for the company's losses. 

We all refused,  so he directed HR in a live meeting to post our positions online.   Wrote our names on the board and next to each, he wrote "replace."  He said if we don't want to solve his loss issues with urgency-according to his definition- we can walk.

Then his wife barged into the meeting with a question completely unrelated.   He openly asked her if he should dismiss us. Of course she said yes.

Then he said to the group how he could get a better return on investment by shutting down the business  and investing in the market.   

No concern about the people who have to work for a living.

He called me into his office and acknowledged my anger.  Said I needed to offer him "grace." Bull! 

I need to find another job and have some leads. 

Question,  what do I do in the meantime?

LemonLime

This person sounds truly terrifying.
As in psychotic-ish.

My advice is to run, not walk, out of there and don't look back.  Figure out what to do once you're safe.

square