New here, no contact?

Started by Bluelight, August 19, 2020, 05:14:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bluelight

Hello. It's my first time here. I hope everyone is feeling good today.  :wave: 

I have come to the realisation that my parents are narcissistic.

My family is a broken home. I have suffered with much anxiety throughout my life. They have been very abusive.

I am strong though. I will pull through this. Since I discovered what has happened I am making some good progress and I feel much better.

I need some help from the more experienced members here though and my question is about how to manage the relationship with my parents when I leave home?

Is it generally advised to go no contact and to make no effort to have them involved in my life? Or do I still involve them and maintain minimal contact? Is there any set guidance to follow regarding this?

My intuition says to cut them off completely, but at the same time I carry around guilt for thinking this for some reason. I think it's because my parents have always made me feel like I owe them something for simply existing and being their child who they have provided for regarding material wealth.

I know I can never have an open, honest and healthy relationship with them. It's always like I'm walking on eggshells and in a state of paralysis where I can't express myself the way I naturally want to. I don't want them controlling my life anymore. I'm tired of being a fake person with them and adapting to their abusive episodes.

Any advice is appreciated.

Andeza

Ultimately,  there is no hard and fast rule. The decision is yours to make based on, essentially, you. Are your parents so toxic that having them in your life is unbearable? Is cutting contact, at least for a period of time, necessary for your own healing? Are you able to just lower contact and achieve a state that you are comfortable with? The questions to ask yourself go on.