How to stay strong while trying to break this sick cycle???

Started by Legalmindhelp, March 20, 2022, 04:20:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Legalmindhelp

Hello all of you lovely supportive people!

I am here to give you an update. It has been a really rough day. I managed to get my husband served the papers that I filed on Monday, today. He is coming over tomorrow to pack up all of his things and leave and he's told me he will not talk to me until he sees me in court at this point. As a lawyer, I know he cannot prevent the divorce in the no-fault state. It is all about the property and how much money he can take me for. We have not been married even two years yet. So, as a short term marriage he's not really entitled to much.  I am going to continue to make efforts to see if I can get him to agree to a property settlement and write a consent judgment. If not, I am fairly comfortable leaving it in the hands of the judge who is also a successful female.

Gee, that probably sounds like I've got that all under control! The truth is that I was getting a manicure when the process server text me that he had served my husband. Then the text came in from my husband informing me that he had just been served. And I am stupidly sitting there getting a manicure with the tears just jumping out of my eyes. This is not easy. However, I've always been of the opinion that if you have to rip the Band-Aid off better to do it quickly then slowly. My clock starts now! After 90 days I can be granted a divorce and get my life back. And I really don't know that I could've Made it this far without the support of this forum. Just keep trying——you can do it if you set yourself up a good support system!

Also, I have an appointment with a psychologist who is married to a man with antisocial personality disorder. So, I am really looking forward to that and hope to gain some strength from that as well. God bless you all and stay strong!

Legalmindhelp