Dealing with your own, while helping others

Started by Justme729, August 28, 2022, 01:56:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Justme729

I am a teacher and I have a child who dealt with neglect from the biological parent.   The child often says, "my dad died (Covid, only caregiver).  I had to live with my mom and she didn't take care of me.   Now I live with my grandma."   The child is extremely sensitive.  He was also separated from his brother (half sibling).  One of the grandparents was going to have to give up their grandson.  It wasn't happening.

My therapist posted a question, how are you dealing with your own trauma while helping this child process their trauma.  Honestly, my gut says "tough it up", but I know that isn't right. I know it isn't necessarily PD that the child has gone through, but still abuse and neglect.

PunkCroc

That's a hard one. But I think it's important. It's easy to transfer our feelings of what we experienced onto someone else we see going through something similar, especially if it's a child, the protective instinct sets in.

I think you can care about this student and be a nurturing teacher, but when you are done with your teaching day, at home, take some time for yourself to take your mind away from it and refocus on yourself. A book, music, talking with your family for a little bit. It's not selfish or heartless to separate your own healing and your own experiences from someone else's so you don't find yourself getting triggered or too enmeshed in a situation. Drawing boundaries between where you can, and it is appropriate, to help, and where you and your own life need to take priority.

easterncappy

Are you saying "tough it out" to yourself or the child? Because the first time I read your post, I understood it that way, and I thought "me too - my PD parent's words echo in my mind in situations where, well, that's how they'd react".