Is This Toxic Behavior?

Started by Kat54, January 18, 2023, 02:24:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kat54

A friend of mine and someone who is fairly a new friend. We've dated a little but I'm kind of keeping it as friends as I've been wary of him. He's nice, thoughtful but... as he's puts it, He can be difficult. I think I'm getting a dose of that right now.
My birthday came and he was very nice and took me out to dinner, had a great time. It was actually amazing, we talked forever and laughed a lot. We texted over the weekend and he was going to see his mother and take her to dinner. He's told me that his relationship with her has had some ups and downs. We signed off, I'll talk to you during the week, maybe do dinner at my place.

A couple days go by and I sent him a link to an article that was written about me as I'm an artist and trying to establish myself. It was in a magazine local to our area, nice big picture and a very flattering article. I was very happy and excited to share it with him. All day goes by and no response, nothing. I figure he's probably busy with work.

It starts bugging me and I text him in the evening asking how his day was. Again no response and I'm suddenly worrying if he's ok. He's had some family issues going on with his daughter and ex wife.
I'm a bit of a cyber sleuth and we are both on social media and friends. I can see if he's online. So I happen to be on FB and I see he also is on FB so Ok he's fine.

I'm heading to bed and I text him again, thought of calling but it was pretty late by then and I didn't want to be annoying. Asked if he's ok and I'm calling him tomorrow and said good night.

I share my news with him and I ended up feeling super crappy. Why would someone be mean like that and completely ignore my messages. If you are sick, unhappy, retreating. Just say something. I'm ok, just need some time to myself.