Need to Stop Supporting my Adult Niece

Started by hoge, July 09, 2023, 04:21:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hoge

I have spent the day reading this excellent website, and I am in despair but trying to find hope. My niece is in her mid-40s, I have raised her since she was a child. I have been supporting her completely for the past 5 years—an exorbitant amount of money that I can no longer afford. The FOG that engulfs me is profound and exacerbated by her knowing exactly how to trigger my Fear (references to getting rid of all her stuff, nobody would notice if she was gone, etc), Obligation (she is all alone except for me, and I owe her because her mother died when she was little), and Guilt (I can't bear the idea of her being homeless, alone, which she assures me she would be). For the past 5 years she has complained of multiple life-threatening medical problems and the fault of the medical establishment, who have tortured her. She always tells me how alone she is and how I am never there for her to go to medical appointments with her but when I have offered and tried, the appointments get cancelled or likely never existed. I recently went through a major life upheaval (thus no longer being able to afford to support her in the style to which she has become accustomed), and she has barely acknowledged or offered any empathy for what I am going through. Clearly, I could go on and on.  I am so tired, I feel so powerless, and I know I have to do something, but I hardly know where to start. She has lost all her friends and other family members because they refuse to continue to deal with her until she gets psychiatric help, and she adamantly insists she does not have a problem. She graduated from an Ivy league school, but has been consistently underemployed or unemployed. Sorry for rambling, thank you for reading.

LemonLime

Hi Hoge,