conflicted over pending visit after 4y of VLC

Started by wingspan, April 14, 2019, 07:51:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wingspan

hello all - i've been visiting this forum on and off for the last two years as i'm coming to terms with the seriousness of my FOO's dynamics. your posts have been so helpful, and so thank you all for sharing and being so supportive with each other!

it took many years of failing at fixing my self (rather than heal my self) before i could begin to acknowledge that my M, S, and aunt (deceased dad's S) all struggle with some form of uPD, and that in particular the triangle between my M, S, and myself is completely toxic. learning about gas lighting, scapegoating, etc. has been tremendously helpful and painful and i'm working on letting go of the fantasy of having healthy and loving relationships with what are 'supposed to be' my closest female relatives.

the big breaking point for me occurred four years ago after a two-week family vacation (M, S with her H and kids, and I), where i witnessed my S's NPD in full bloom and how she was being enabled by the others. my only option was to 'not get involved', yet somehow my M still tried to blame the whole mess on me at the end (- like i said, learning about scapegoating has been a HUGE eyeopener).

i went VLC with both M and S after that and have not seen my S since then despite wishing to be more involved in my nieces and nephews' lives. i've visited M a couple of times (we all live in different countries) since, but have had to work hard on staying emotionally sober and also we both kind of had to eliminate S as a topic of conversation, as otherwise it just kept feeding the toxic triangle. i haven't initiated contact with my S, but responded to requests to skype with the kids (2-3 x year) and continue to send gifts for b-day and xmas.