The Urge to Argue Fact Assertions Is Strong With This One

Started by Starboard Song, January 09, 2024, 10:36:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Starboard Song

We are now 8 YEARS NC from my in-laws. Wow!

On Christmas Day, my MIL wrote to us for the first time in -- I think -- a couple years. The card's purported purpose was to assure my wife that they still and always would love her. But that positivity was drowned in a hot curry sauce of invective.

She began by asserting that our hearts were incapable of forgiveness, which is at least poor tact, but is really more of a moral judgment than a falsifiable fact assertion. Then she makes two false accusations.

These get to me, people. People who know me assume I am an engineer, lawyer, or a preacher: no joke. I speak in terms of logic, math, and reason, and I do so with a great deal of passion and -- I hope -- heart. So back during our going-NC crisis, it was the factual errors that angered and frustrated me the most.

With healthy people, it has always worked. Either I didn't do what they are angry about, or I did but it was an accident. Or it was on purpose, but I meant no harm, and I am sorry for the harm done. With a PD person, I just can't accept what they often cannot accept: facts matter.

So this card, eight years down the road from NC, five years since our last words spoken to them, got to me. And there are two characteristics that are just so maddening:

Abstraction of the Accusation - She didn't accuse us, in this card, of anything specific. She abstracted: we had "hurt" someone. We had "taken advantage" of another person. Moving up a level of abstraction from the specific acts of which she's complaining eventually makes all charges true. And it allows the accuser to smuggle in judgmental terms, rather than stick with the facts.