the trauma is a shadow and this is mostly a vent

Started by xredshoesx, September 10, 2022, 08:05:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

xredshoesx

hey all,

have you all had a similar experience where that hurt from the past just gets highlighted from unfair situations in the now?

backstory: i've been NC with my uPD mother more than half my life and VLC with my father since i found him when i was 18.  both my parents had children with other people, NC with my half brother with uPD mother, also VLC with my fathers other daughters who are a lot younger than me and who i met for the first time when i was 21.  i grew up either being rasied by my uPD mother's abusive parents or in foster care with the exception of when my mother was remarried (and at some point her ex even had custody of me)

so anyways, present day.  i work in education, in a large urban, high poverty district.  between budget cuts and the pandemic we have been on a technology shortage since the 20-21 school year.  the district prioritizes who gets tech (ELA/ MATH) bc that's the scores the state looks at for evaluation purposes.  I no longer teach either of those subjects.   literally for the last three school years i have had to beg, borrow and literally STEAL to get tech for my classes.  it makes me super mad and i think i finally figured out why.