“Friend” Sabotaged Relationship - and I didn’t realise for years.

Started by DesertRose, May 14, 2022, 10:09:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DesertRose

Over 10 years ago while I was a student, a boy and I liked each other. We were drawn to each other and things were still in a delicate stage, but the mutual attraction was very strong.

I had a jealous roommate who thought that boy was cute. (She told me so). She was jealous of many people, and she often tried to start arguments. (Quote from her: "I think we are due for a fight" - when I was not aware of anything worth fighting about!)

One evening, my roommate came up to my room around 8/9pm while I was in my pjs. She said something very vague and confusing about how someone downstairs in our dorm was saying our group of friends should Mix with theirs. I asked who and she said "I will tell you later". She gave me a talk about how she didn't think we had time for this for various reasons and she was going to go tell them. It was all so vague I had no way to know what she meant, but I had a strange, sinking feeling. When she came back up she said "there, I think he understands". I wondered who she meant - I asked - I wondered if it was the boy. She would not tell me.

The next morning I learned (from a real / honest friend) that boy had his friends had invited all of us out. She asked "why didn't you go?" And i explained I didn't even know about it.

After that, the boy stopped seeking me out. Rushed by me in the hallway. I wasn't sure why. What had happened? I was young, naive and trusting. We had such chemistry. I always thought we would reconnect, but we never did.