Boyfriend and BP mother

Started by popcorn2, July 07, 2019, 06:19:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

popcorn2

I would like to ask you your opinion about a situation I'm in. I have a boyfriend and my mother was at first ok with this relationship, but at some point I think she started feeling left out or feared I will abandon her and she started acting irrational, even in front of him. He doesn't live in the same country and he stayed at home with us. I was naive or silly thinking it could work and she would behave or wouldn't spoil it, but I was wrong. She had a few crazy episodes in front of him. I told my boyfriend about how she is and he can't really understand the extent of her problem, I don't blame him, it took me long to find out myself what she had and what it is. I'm still learning. She complains about him, she makes me doubt about my relationship with her comments, she spies my phone to see who I'm talking too...she's always been like this but I am so enmeshed with her that even though I knew it was wrong I tolerated most of her controlling behavior.

The thing is this relationship is new and I don't know if it's fair to ask my boyfriend to share this painful burden with me. I don't have any brothers or sisters and my family will expect me to look after her since she's old and has other health  issues. If he lived in same city it would be easier but having to travel means he would have to spend time with her and her BPD.

Thank you

popcorn2

Could anyone give me their opinion?Thank you.

bloomie

popcorn2 - do you mind if I ask for a bit of clarification... are you asking if it is fair to share what is going on in your life with him emotionally/verbally as part of your support system?