Another New Question

Started by tommom, August 24, 2023, 04:42:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tommom

I haven't been here in a while and here I am again! Twice in a week!

Just had another one.

I was an editor for years, have written innumerable articles, blogs, etc. but now I have decided, in my dotage, to write novels and self-publish them. I won't make a forture (oh, well I can dream, but being serious...) with enough of them and reasonably small sales for each, I can make enough for a nice vacation, redo the kitchen a bit, etc. You get the picture; make my life a little better.

So, I am going to use some online sales to pay the very small amount of money I need to seed my first book's publication so I don't have to ask him for it and I have been talking about it with my NPDh and a few minutes ago he said, "I think we should put together a contract...."

What???

Honestly, I flipped out. Really pi$$ed off. I know he has to feel in control and he wants everything to be his, but just NO. I think I ran him off from the idea, but do you think this will return? He is a very greedy man and I kind of never have cared before, but these are going to be my babies. No, nada, uhuh.

Any advice, legal, friendly or otherwise??
"It is not my job to fix other people; everyone is on their own journey."

SonofThunder

Hello Tommom,

I'm not certain I fully understand your post. I could assume that the idea of a contract with which your NPDh is referring, is suggested between two parties; A: party one is you/he as a legal couple and party two, a publisher.  B: He meant a contract between you as party one, and he as party two.