The need for validation

Started by Peace Lily, November 17, 2019, 03:44:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Peace Lily

I am now 2 years Out of the FOG and getting on with my life. I have quote a lot of friends I see socially but am not close to any them, which I think is because I am not good at sharing my feelings, opinions - I'm not very good at having feelings in the first place and with opinions I am not good at holding into them as I can always see the others point of view and am easily swayed!

So. The reason for my post is that, when I am with other people I sometimes get an overwhelming need to tell  my story. It can become an obsession and I will go over and over in my head how I am going to phrase it and when I'm going to get an opportunity. i recently spent 2 weeks staying with a group of new friends and lay awake at night fantasizing about. Thankfully, I don't often get the opportunity \ am not brave enough. When I do I worry what the other person now thinks and over analyse their reaction.

Does anyone else have this strong urge to share their pain? How do you deal with it? Will it subside with time?
"It is not the the bruises on the body that hurt. It is the wounds of the heart and the scars on the mind". Aisha Mirza

StayWithMe

I used to be that way as well.  Certainly, the ability to discuss these matters in cyber space have lessened the need for IRL discussion.  I suppose it also helped that I read a few books on communication which were a big help in getting me to change my communication style.  Learning to say / disclose less about me.  Waiting for others to share information with me and so on.  One problem with disclosing a lot of info about yourself is that others then where your Achilles heal is.  That means just when you are looking for validation, someone will withhold it ...... for fun.

Adrianna