Tired of working on myself

Started by blacksheep7, June 10, 2020, 01:20:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

blacksheep7

Hi all,

I guess I'm just frustrated and tired of it all.  I'm creeping up to my mid sixties.    I don't feel old, have an active love of life, always on the go on the weekends.  I lost that because of the pandemic like all of you.  I'm doing better because I was able to see why.  I took out Peter Walker's book: Complex Ptsd and saw that I was having a Flashback.  I'm still learning!
It read: when you feel small, helpless & hopeless.

I'm not whining here because I couldn't go out but because I am still affected by my childhood which was always walking on eggshells.  I am a hyperactive because of it although I maintain an exciting life but quiet mentally. When I came Out of the FOG was when I understood the meaning of the deep impact the abuse it had on me.  I have been to therapy on and off  since in my early twenties suffering from anxiety then came the panic attacks and depression.   My breakups with my partners were ALWAYS INTENSE.  Just like my parents, I felt abandoned again.

I also realized that I need to have an active social life, more than ever.  Just being free of going to the store whenever. What I'm saying is that I felt threaten/insecure which made my anxiety creep up on me feeling the uncertainty of the future, living something that is scary and unknown as  in my childhood home.  I guess I still fear any type of insecurity.  I also know that my NF terrorised me with his weekly threats of kicking me out from the age 14.  I didn't have the courage like some of you to leave home at 18.......too insecure/afraid of not making it on my own.