SD finally has her own insurance

Started by athene1399, February 14, 2020, 01:12:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

athene1399

This post may be more like unimportant word vomit. I feel like I've been holding it in for the last three months so want to get it all out so I can mentally move on.

It's taken far longer than we anticipated, but the insurance situation is finally resolved.  :) SD19 is now in charge of her own insurance. Hopefully this will never be an issue again as BPD BM has been removed from the equation (about as much as she can be anyway).

We explained to the medicaid navigator that BM kicked SD out, yet there were letters from the old insurance company she was expected to get from BM and she had to remain in contact with BM becasue of it. This upset me. I couldn't believe that after being kicked out, SD was expected to talk to BM even if it maybe wasn't safe to do so. I couldn't believe they expected that of SD.

The whole process really stressed out SD (and us). BM told her she took care of things and then we later found out she didn't. SD tried to take care of things herself, but was told by the insurance company that only BM could take her off her plan (BM had her on a state marketplace insurance with her and SD was trying to get on her own Medicaid because BM lapses the insurance at least once a year). SD had another verbal altercation with BM over something unrelated so asked SO to talk to BM and get BM to do what was needed. So he broke NC.