Trouble healing my psycholical damage after narcissistic abuse

Started by minniemouse, March 04, 2020, 01:13:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

minniemouse

Hey guys,
I decided today to join this forum because I feel like I can't get over the terrible things my ex boyfriend did to me.
I want to know if he is a narcissist or not because I don't want to misdiagnose anyone since I am not a doctor. So I would really appreciate your help.
What is important for you to know is that I am not easy to break at all. Which makes the situation harder for me to accept that he did break me.
The beginning of the relationship was perfect, when after a few months he began to show red flags, which I ignored. After about a year of relationship and on-off relationship that lasted half a year after the official break-up, 2 years after all of that i still have psychological damage that i just can't overcome. Short version: during the relationship he lied, cheated on me, preferred others, blamed me for many things, talked badly about me, did not claim me at all, tried to hurt me (not physical) intentionally, threaten to ruin my life after doing something that he didn't like, rubbed it in my face when he slept with another woman and what not.
I have always had difficulties completely forgetting him and my subconscious has constantly tried to understand him and somehow justify his bad deeds.
Even when there was no contact and communication between us, I constantly imagined myself as his girlfriend and wanted to have a working relationship with him.. which I personally think is not healthy at all after everything he did. Afterwards I always felt bad why I still would think of him.
When I finally decided to completely cancel the contact and blocked any attempt to talk to me, I actually felt better and finally thought I was over him.