Lockdown: Does your pd parent accept help from people who aren't you?

Started by MyLifeToo, March 26, 2020, 03:50:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MyLifeToo

I work in a school, and we have to provide care for vulnerable children during the lockdown. There is a rota, and I was at work on Monday. I asked to swap my next day, due in 2 weeks to next week, so that I would be able to self isolate for 14 days on order to safely visit my elderly uNpdM at Easter (150 miles away). Meanwhile I've been keeping busy, doing the garden because the weather has been fine, and catching up on jobs.

Also been busy on the phone, 2-3 times a day, to her.  :stars: I know you've all advised me to cut back on phone calls as I always ring every day, but I feel it is the right thing for me to do, but now she knows I'm home she wants more and more.

Because we talked twice during the day yesterday I didn't ring her in the evening. So she phoned and asked me what I was doing. I told her, watching tv, having a meal etc. and that I planned to check up on her later. Well, she was on the warpath, and had a go at me for not caring, being selfish, telling lies, all the usual rubbish.

I called at midday today to see how she was and her first words were "I thought would've rung me to see how I am. I'm ill, you don't care, you just want to sun yourself in the garden on your lovely extended holiday blah blah blah". I said I'm not on holiday and I am ringing you to see how you are but if you're going to speak to me like that I'll go now and maybe ring later.