Fear about consequences of setting a boundary with MIL

Started by gettingstronger1, November 29, 2019, 02:11:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gettingstronger1

Over the past summer things came to a head with my uNPD MIL.  To make a long story short, my husband and I tried to talk to her about problems with her regarding her overly controlling and critical behavior.  My husband had been in the fog, but he started to come Out of the FOG when he watched her go into a narcissistic rage.  Even though I had been nothing but kind to her for 18 years, she immediately terminated her relationship with me the first time I talked to her about our problems. Over the next couple of months, she continued to enforce the termination of the relationship by giving me the silent treatment, ignoring me while I was very sick and in the ER, and other manipulative behaviors to me that upset both my husband and I.  My husband and I went to see a marital therapist to figure out how to deal with her continued cruelty to me.  The therapist we saw basically said my husband needed to set a firm boundary with his mother and let her know that if MIL wants a relationship with him that she needed to be kind to me.  My husband and I felt sad about having to break contact with her, but we both knew it was necessary.  He wrote an email letting her know he loves her and wants a relationship with her, but he couldn't continue to have a relationship with someone who mistreats his wife.