Unintended MC to NC shift

Started by Mons, January 08, 2024, 08:04:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mons

I've been using MC with my NPD sis for 2-3 years and was in as good a place as possible given the circumstances (ie. still rubbish but drama free rubbish).

I hate the festive season and have been withdrawing from social media/phones over Christmas/New Year weeks for probably 6-7 years. The thing is, this year I just don't feel like getting back in touch with her. Not in a malicious way, or even a deliberate NC, I just don't feel I want to. Probably because I've been talking about her in therapy lately and it's opened it all up again and ruined my sense of detachment via MC. I guess therapy highlighted that within the MC I've still enabled her to behave badly. But I know the only way to deal with NPD is by abandoning all hope of the person behaving and to focus on yourself.

I have lots of other things to talk about in therapy so perhaps I need to close the topic of my sis and get back to the MC level with her. But there again I'm perfectly entitled to not want to get back in touch with her right now. Just because in previous years I switch my phone back on on the 1st or 2nd of Jan it doesn't mean I can't take extra time this year. But I'm afraid of causing unnecessary drama. I know nobody can tell me what to do but an outside perspective that isn't my therapist (idk how helpful my therapy has been on the sis front, it seems to have opened a can of worms I'd already shut once) would be appreciated :)

walking on broken glass

Hi Mons!
I can relate to this. I recently blocked my uBPDsis on WhatsApp and the silence that followed was so liberating. I didn't feel like unblocking her and getting back in touch with her. I ended up doing it because I would speak to her and see her over Christmas and I didn't want it to be super awkward.