Scapegoated by 'friend' for war overseas(???!!)

Started by JollyJazz, April 08, 2024, 11:48:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JollyJazz

:stars:

Hi All,

I just wanted to reach out for some help and advice.

A few months ago I had an issue with a 'friend', or should I say ex-friend because I don't really want to hang out anymore...

Anyway, this friend has generally been quite nice, almost too much so, in a 'nice guy' male friend that maybe wants more. Anyway I just have been friends with him and didn't see him that often.

Anyhow, last December I went to visit the friend group that he's part of, and he had gotten into a major conflict with an ex-roommate of his. I ended up talking to him and trying to talk things through and he started ranting at me an interrogating me about my opinions on a certain war in the news at the moment.

Now, for the record, I am against war, and am against violence etc. I'm also not really an expert on the conflict but from this person's perspective one would think my opinions were very uncontroversial.

Anyway, I was surprised by how 'aggro' this person was, and I just felt like they were taking their anger at their room mate, society etc. out on me.

I am generally regarded as a very kind and nice person etc. and I just wonder if this is making me a target for certain personality types.

This really gets to me because I have been scapegoated by my family of origin, and so I wonder if perhaps there are signals that we give off etc.

I had another experience with this ex-friend that made me cut the cord completely, where he also lashes out at me at a gathering of other friends.

I know for a fact I haven't done anything but been nice to this person and the political stuff is extra bizarre.

For the record I wasn't the one bringing up the political stuff and this person seems unhealthily obsessed with the whole issue...