Not knowing what you want in life because it was never your choice

Started by blistering, May 14, 2019, 05:24:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

blistering

Hi,

I don't think all of this is due to my Nmom but probably much of it. Basically, as a child, I can't remember ever thinking about my future. I had no dream jobs, no plans, no ideas what I would do with my life. All I wanted was to grow up and be free.

After school was finished I had absolutely no idea what to do or study. Well to be honest, I had a few vague ideas but immediately discarded them as unrealistic. Finally I studied what my mother suggested. I remained mostly under her control even as a young adult.

Now I'm 25 and no contact with her. I am unhappy with my job which I have been in for almost 3 years now. The career I picked isn't the right fit for me and I know I have to change but still find it really hard to determine what I DO want to do.

In the last years, I have already done some 'identity-building'. My  mother formed my ideas about myself to a large degree. After I started living on my own, it was a difficult process to find out who I actually am and what I like or dislike. I found out the hard way multiple times. Even when I felt like I knew what I want to do, there was this voice in my head going 'mother wouldn't like that' and so I forgot about it.

It's slowly getting better, but I still feel stuck in my life. For the last 3 years, I feel like very little has happened in my life. I go to my unfulfilling job every day. I have hobbies and friends but I often get the strong feeling that I'm wasting my life. That I'm not really being me.

Sometimes I know what I really, really want and am just not allowing myself to go after it. Even now, I still instinctively imagine my mother's reaction to any possible choice, or how she would criticize it.

Do/did you struggle with this too?

Call Me Cordelia