Am I the Abuser?

Started by Lavoy2113, November 16, 2021, 09:31:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lavoy2113

This is my first time on any site much less this one. I am reaching into the dark not knowing what I may or may not catch as it were...
I have been in an abusive marriage my entire life. I'm not even sure anymore if I am the abuser or the abused.  I would really like to find someone that I can reach out to and have an honest conversation to see if it is possible to find the answers.
We have seen counselors at least 5 to 10 times and the finger is pointing directly at me each time. I have not found a time where anyone says,, well it's obviously her fault and
You are a pretty good guy.
I used to think that I was but now I just don't know.  Do you think that we might be able to help each other some how?

Starboard Song

You're in the right place. Many folks struggle with this concern at some point: is it me or the other person?

The struggle at least tells you that you are open-minded: the worst offenders never doubt their own righteousness. Welcome here. In the Chosen Relationships boards you'll probably find more stories and struggles like your own.

It is worth directly addressing this concern at counselling. But do remember, it is best to not begin with the belief that either party is the bad guy. The most important thing is to ensure you are being your own best self, and seek confidence that you aren't insane: that what you perceive happening is what is happening.

Good luck to you. There are many members here who will be able to chime in as you share more of your story. See you on the boards.
Radical Acceptance, by Brach   |   Self-Compassion, by Neff    |   Mindfulness, by Williams   |   The Book of Joy, by the Dalai Lama and Tutu
Healing From Family Rifts, by Sichel   |  Stop Walking on Egshells, by Mason    |    Emotional Blackmail, by Susan Forward

j.banquo

Hi, welcome.

Quote from: Starboard Song on November 18, 2021, 09:19:31 AM