Was my friend a narcissist? Or just emotionally immature/toxic?

Started by Merrill95, August 10, 2019, 07:44:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Merrill95

I recently went No Contact after 2+ years of online friendship with a woman I'll call "Anne."  I'd appreciate some opinions on whether Anne was a narcissist, or emotionally immature, or just had a personality that was toxic to me.

Some background—I "met" Anne through a fan forum for a certain actor.  When we met, she was 36 years old, and I was 39.  Anne initiated the contact when she e-mailed me about a practical issue related to the forum.   Since she happened to mention she'd been an English major in college, and I'd just begun writing fiction (I'm a semi-pro writer and a teacher), I sent her a short story.  She said she loved it, so I sent her another, which she liked even more.  Before long, I had an appreciative audience for my work.