The problem with grey/yellow rock... this is my kids father who spews this hate

Started by rockandhardplace, August 06, 2023, 08:26:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rockandhardplace

I'm not technically separated but this feels more like the right place for this post as my issue with grey/yellow rock is all about the kids. I have literally hundreds of thousands of words of texts, emails etc from stbxupd. Almost everything in the last few years is emotionally abusive imo (not sure family court sees it like that). There's constant put downs, deflecting to bizarrely unrelated things, character attacks etc. and then some really blatant name calling. He will actually commit in writing to defending his right to call me names, suggesting it's not name calling but facts. His favorite being that because I was a stay at home mom I am useless and lazy and a bad role model to our children. Completely flipped our history because he wanted me to be sahm until our relationship broke down (I couldn't take the abuse/control). Anyways... I'm trying to organise the texts, emails etc to prep for family court. I can use my cognitive rational brain to see that all of the horrible lies he spews are just a way to avoid taking any responsibility for his behaviour, to convince me that I'm to blame for everything. Sometimes a grey rock / BIFF response works with him, but rarely. So that's obviously a big issue. But even just trying to organise the material makes me feel physically sick. I've always been aware that my reaction to his nasty words connects to normal human emotions as words are powerful. But even when I remember the great advice "consider the source" and use ideas from the narc decoder to recognise that all of his crap is projections, I'm still left unable to read the material without feeling sick. And I've come back to not being able to accept that my children's father could use the words that he does. The stuff he puts in his emails, I would not write to someone on death ro