Why can't I think when I'm around him?

Started by TooLiteral, October 24, 2019, 09:50:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TooLiteral

I think I'm a reasonably intelligent woman. I have a college degree. I've lived alone, taken care of myself, been out of the country. I had a decent childhood (not perfect but not terribly awful.) I'm well-read, well-spoken, decently-cultured.

Why, when my uNPDh speaks to me, rages, devalues, belittles me, am I completely incapable of standing up for myself? How do I lose everything I've learned? Every negative experience I've overcome triumphantly. Every bit of self-respect and dignity. Poof.

What on earth is that?

Hazy111

Sorry for being a bit abrupt here

I had a decent childhood (not perfect but not terribly awful.)  Did you really??  That statement was me about 30 years  completely in the fog and indenial. I didnt know what a normal family was? I wasnt abused , given stuff, parents were (present) 100% Didnt drink/drugs etc. But unfortunately they werent happy well adjusted adults as ive come to realise over many many painful years. (NB I have a degree and professionally qualified)

Why then are you attracted and put up with  a bullying narcissist?  Hint, its not your genes. Good luck coming Out of the FOG

TooLiteral

Quote from: Hazy111 on October 24, 2019, 10:11:42 AM

I had a decent childhood (not perfect but not terribly awful.)  Did you really??  That statement was me about 30 years  completely in the fog and indenial. I didnt know what a normal family was? I wasnt abused , given stuff, parents were (present) 100% Didnt drink/drugs etc. But unfortunately they werent happy well adjusted adults as ive come to realise over many many painful years. (NB I have a degree and professionally qualified)

Why then are you attracted and put up with  a bullying narcissist?  Hint, its not your genes. Good luck coming Out of the FOG