New & Foundering

Started by AlisonR, February 08, 2024, 07:44:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AlisonR

Help! I'm brand new to the realization my 79yo mother is a narcissist.  I'm staying at her house to care for her.  We came for Christmas (her birthday so of course it's HER day) and she was in such bad shape I stayed.

So here I am, almost 2 months later.  I've moved into a cabin on her property for my privacy. 

I spent 15 years complete NC because..... well, because she's a narcissistic monster that started attacking my children (emotionally).

Now I'm here. I had a clear head and clear heart but it's being turned to darkness.

Leaving isn't an option. She'll be left alone and she can't take care of herself. She has chased EVERYBODY away that might work for her. We're in a small, rural area.

Now that I figured out she's a narcissist I'm not reacting "correctly" I think? It's driving her crazy and that's not my intention. I just don't want to play her game.

Something as simple as which hotel my cousin is staying in. She explodes and yells at me, "you always have to be right, you're never wrong!"  I am not sure what the appropriate response is? I am right. Do I lie to make her happy?

All I said was. "No, I think that's different hotel..." while I was searching the Internet. She blew up and stomped out (in super slow motion because she has Parkinson's and peripheral neuropathy).

Her dr gave me a referral for a dementia support group - pretty sure she has early dementia.

I recognized the pattern and I think I showed amusement. So now that's bad too.  I don't know the proper reaction? 

I have feelers out for therapy but I need immediate short term advice!!!

NarcKiddo

Leaving is an option.