Do you attend church with your PD spouse?

• 21 Replies

Rainstorm

Do you attend church with your PD spouse?
« on: January 08, 2015, 04:17:57 PM »
What is it like attending church with your spouse? Do they act pretty normal in church? Do they sit beside you and interact in the service (sing, etc.)? Have you ever considered going to another church without your spouse? What has your church going experiences been like?

My spouse and I have been attending the same church for many years, but for the last year or two, he has been going to an earlier service than me, so we rarely sit together. My husband has also made it known that our marriage is having problems. I sense that he is trying to get sympathy while making himself look good. This makes me feel uncomfortable, and sometimes I think I would prefer going to a different church, but then I know for sure I will end up looking like the "bad guy." I also have friends there and I don't make friends easily, so it would be hard to leave.

DealingWithIt

Re: Do you attend church with your PD spouse?
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2015, 12:09:26 PM »
My wife and I had been very regular in our church, going and sitting together, until the last month or so.  A year or so ago, she started having problems with the service... particular with me being in it.  The sermons were bothering her, and she was basically using them to bash me.  She kept getting upset that I could be such an evil person, yet sit beside her in church and profess my love of God.  At one point, when we were driving home from church, she exclaimed that after hearing the sermon, she didn't know why I wasn't slitting my own throat.  So, she hasn't been coming as often, lately.

Lately, she refers to it as "your church", instead of "our church" or "her church".