"Is It Enough?" "Enough is Enough!" "Am I Doing Enough?" Rinse. Wash. Repeat.

• 22 Replies

Mudita

:stars:

Frankly, I would steal any of my friends away from this situation if I knew about it. I absolutely fall in to numerous categories of people in terrible relationships. Yet here I am. I chose to not give up. I don’t know what to do. I think people are fallible. I love them anyway. I love everyone, even. I was raised by people who cared for others. Nurses. Volunteers. During the depression, my great grandfather left groceries on others’ doorsteps in the middle of the night so the families would have food and not feel obligated to repay anyone. Those are my people. I am an activist and my life's work is to advocate, educate and empower traditionally marginalized people. This includes my bf. I have done significant self-work. I have read a ton. I am a teacher that works with special needs, behaviourally challenged kids. I think that's one of the reasons I've been so patient, and sadly, can take a punch - I'm able to separate the behaviour from the person. I can separate the extreme emotions from the challenges coping with them. I see how my bf’s family failed him by not guiding him on how to deal with ANY emotional discomfort. I have “Applied Behavior Analysis” training and “Non-Violent Intervention/ Behaviour Management” training.

But I am no therapist.

And my bf isn’t my student.

As committed as I am, I just want a boyfriend some(most of)times.