My God, can we die from this grief?

• 15 Replies

Hayden77

My God, can we die from this grief?
« on: April 02, 2016, 06:20:57 PM »
It's a rhetorical question, I know the answer is yes.  I read online once that 1 out of 8 mammals dies within 6 months of losing a mate or offsping.  Sobering.

I asked my BPD GF to move out this past week.  She has agreed and is looking for a place, but it will take perhaps 2 months.  In the meantime, six of us live here as a seemingly happy family, her two kids with my two kids with the kids all adoring each other.  Now, there are tears everywhere as the sadness sinks in.  In the next two months, by two kids are moving on, something that was happening anyway as they are growing up.  And then she and her kids and our dog will move out, and I will be left alone in this big house in the country, and the thought of it is more than I can bear. 

I'm a very confident professional guy in his 50s but  I am just crying my guts out all the time from this.  I have not lived alone since I was 25 but soon I will be.  How can I make this terrible choice to send away someone who does love me very much and is great to be with 90% of the time?  But how can I continue to be with her, when I am yelled and degraded and belittled over and over again? She is delusionally jealous, with accusations coming over the most inane things.  I have never ever strayed.  She has twice though, and I have taken her back each time.  But last week after more attacks, I just could no longer handle the rages. 

How do people have the strength to do what seems to be the right thing?  And when do we ever regain our balance again?  It is tearing me apart.  I was out with my kids today shopping and I literally threw up from the stress.  I had to run to a men's room.