Sisters narrow minded comments come full circle

• 8 Replies

Selene3339

• This is the strangest life I have ever lived...
Sisters narrow minded comments come full circle
« on: April 03, 2016, 05:15:30 PM »
My NPD sister has spent a good majority of her life making sure she belittles everything I do. I have been NC with her for 3 years but of course hear about her 'great' ways from my FOO.

I have always been a natural type person, making soap, cleaning products, growing food and herbs, and she made sure she put that down to 'new age crap' whenever she could. Comments made and sarcasm abounded from her.

Now she is a big hero because she had started making soap, going to salt spa's etc. HAHAHA! She told me over 15 years ago that using salt on my body would 'just dry my skin out, was I stupid or what?' Her and her 'twin' daughter now have salt lamps ( which I have been using since the 1980's) and everyone is fascinated by this, though they rolled their eyes at my lamps!

She always used heavy commercial cleaning products and told me that I wasn't "really" cleaning my house with natural products, just 'spreading germs around.' So many things they are doing now that they laughed and criticized me for.

It sounds petty now that I write this down, but my family acts like she just discovered the holy grail. When I heard this crap last night I just burned with how badly I had been treated over the years by just being myself.

~Selene3339

Dolphin

Re: Sisters narrow minded comments come full circle
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2016, 09:34:34 AM »
I have found that the uNPDs I know put a lot of time and effort into getting attention, and sometimes do seem to have more closer relationships as a result.  Meanwhile folks like us are forced to put our time and effort into being ourselves and taking care of business.  These seemingly petty issues remind us of the larger issues we've had to deal with.

Bloomie

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2016, 01:39:20 PM »