New to forums, but this subject is too familiar...

Started by classymasty, August 14, 2016, 11:20:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

classymasty

Hello! I'm totally new to actually posting in forums, but this seems like a really safe and helpful place for something I've been struggling with alone for years now. My bf and I have been together for over 5 years, lived together for 4 years. His PD has been ever present since week 1, but I was too naive, in love, and frankly, confused by his manipulation to realize he bad it is for him and myself. I'm to a point where I am pretty regularly looking for my own place for when/if that big fight happens where I lay out exactly how I feel and finally end things. I can't express to him how he hurts me, every day, with his condescension and belittling, because when I have gotten the courage to have the conversation, I end up more upset because he's turned it around on me, saying how I don't accept him for who he is, how I need to keep looking for "Prince Charming" (actual words he used when I asked him to show me respect around his family). I end up apologizing until he stops giving me the silent treatment. We never discuss it after that, just move on, and I feel relieved just to have the fighting and tension over. I hate confrontation, and he uses that to get away with hurting me.
Lately, he's been snapping at me for not understanding something he's saying, be it that I don't hear him correctly or otherwise. Really silly misunderstandings. When I ask him to repeat himself or clarify, he talks down to me like I'm a little kid. I don't say anything at that point, to show him that I am upset (since telling him why hasn't worked). Then he'll ask, annoyed, if he has upset me once again. I'll say yes, and he'll just say "ok," like, "once again, I've hurt the delicate little flower!" (again, exact quote).