What have you accomplished?

• 35 Replies

Artsy

What have you accomplished?
« on: September 15, 2016, 11:20:30 AM »
In another thread, I noticed the conversation started down the road of all the things we accomplished that were ignored and even erased by PD parents and sibs. I thought it would be cool to report those things on this forum, so this pseudo family can give us prompts. Here's mine: I won championships in three states in equestrian jumping by the age of 16. I joined the Army when I was 17, and graduated from tech school at the top of my class. I paid for my own college. I've been married for 25 years. I raised kids with boundaries, the ability to say "no," and with compassion for others. I graduated with a 4.0 from my masters, which I got while pregnant with my second child (finals literally came in my final trimester.) I sought out help when I recognized fleas and dysfunction in my own family, very humbling and takes courage when your whole family tells you counseling and antidepressants make you inferior. I stood up to my father when he hit me in the face while pregnant and ultimately had to stand up to the whole family, alone, after they twisted my stories. I was the first and only to call 9-1-1 on a sibling who was being violent (everyone else enabled him.) Despite all my sibs turning on me, rejecting me, shaming me, I held firm and found a happy life outside the family. When I became a Christian (and was basically told that someone as bad as I am could never find God) I turned the other cheek. I'm considered an asset in work settings, and I make friends easily (I was told as a child that I had "no friends" by older sisters). When my PD parents got Alzheimer's and dementia, I made peace with them and took on medical staff and saved my father's life at one point after a major surgery. The surgeon gave me credit, which was an odd experience, as all my sibs said I "didn't do that much for Dad." I've got mad mountain biking skills :)

Whose next?