work bonuses/ tickets and PD parents

• 7 Replies

confuzzled duck

work bonuses/ tickets and PD parents
« on: October 18, 2016, 10:18:21 AM »
Hi all - bit of a rant here

I work in the entertainment industry and as part of working there we regularly get free or greatly reduced tickets, for ourselves or friends and family.
Generally staff tickets get seated on tier 1 (floor level) the best seats. We have 3 tiers in our venue, 3rd tier being the worst seats (still a good view, but furthest from the stage).

Prior to 4 month ago, I was very much co-dependant with my 2 NPD parents (didn't know what NPD was at this point). Any tickets I got they would use unless they weren't interested or I expressly told them that I would be using them, even then there might be sulking until I give up my tickets to them and sneak in myself. They usually would repay me for the tickets by inviting me along to their pre show meal.

A couple of month ago we had Rocky Horror though, brilliant show and always sells out. Staff tickets were 2 tickets for one night and they would be in tier 3 (these tickets are worth 25 each, we got them for free). I was working the show so couldn't use the tickets myself. Offered them to parents who turned them down cause they didn't want to sit in tier 3. They asked if i could get them onto tier 1, I said "no we've only been offered tier 3". So they refused them, fair enough.
I offered them to my friend who loves seeing shows who leaped on them, she was so excited. It was a show she really wanted to see but couldn't afford it. I explained that they would be in tier 3, she said "So? they're free tickets to the best show in town!! Thankyou so much!!" I was a little taken aback by how happy and greatfull she was for these tickets.