"Out of the FOG" is a perfect descriptive phrase

• 4 Replies

myself

"Out of the FOG" is a perfect descriptive phrase
« on: November 20, 2016, 11:55:33 AM »
Hello, i am very new to all of this.  Everything I have read about NPD fits exactly with my MIL.  I moved to a new country with my husband when we got married, left my friends and family, ended up stuck living with my inlaws for 3 years, which had NOT been in the plans, they sold the land they had promised to give us to use, which was the whole reason I had left my home.  I was very ill and pregnant when we moved in with them, my MIL was extremely abusive, even putting me into physical danger, but always denying it, always making a big show to everyone outside the family of what a good person she is, and how she was helping us (she wasn't, we stayed to help during FIL's illness).  I didn't know people like that existed.  She took my things and sold, lost, or used them up, let some of our livestock die to teach us a lesson about her knowing what's best, would set up social situations pretending to be nice, only to turn on me and ridicule me in front of an audience.  That kind of thing went on for years. I felt like I couldn't talk to anyone because everyone I knew, knew her as well, and would say what a good person she was and how it must be so nice to have her help all the time!! It made me feel like i was the wrong one for ever suggesting she was anything other than what she pretends.  I was afraid to even try to find information or help online in case she saw it, she read my mail so i felt it likely she would check my internet history, too.  My husband doesn't like to hear anything about it.  I guess it's probably unpleasant to be faced with the fact that your perfectly normal, typical family you grew up in actually was abusive.  Whenever I have tried to stand up for myself or our children she has created huge dramas, lying to other people about us, talking about how much she has cried and how all she has do