Work Problems

• 22 Replies

Wish Camp

Work Problems
« on: October 28, 2017, 09:55:19 AM »
I need some help, some guidance on a situation at my job. I have worked for 6 months, part time, in an office. I'm new to office work but for the most part I catch on quickly enough. The training I received was weak and short. From day one, I have never felt comfy asking my boss questions because she appears irritated by anything I ask. I have seen her sigh and roll her eyes a couple times. So, instead I ask my co-workers and they gladly assist.

A couple months ago I worked on a difficult project with a co-worker and I/we forgot to write a specific name in a book and a manager from another department caught the mistake while looking it over in our office. He didn't seem bent about it. However, my boss came unhinged towards me and spewed a bunch of humiliating stuff at me in front of my co-workers and the other manager. I was stunned and apologized and then went and made the corrections. I had difficulty concentrating for the rest of my shift but managed to push through.

The next day, I spoke to her in private about her disrespectful behavior and said if it happens again I will walk away from the job. She appeared to understand what I was saying and things got better for a while. We, basically, tolerate each other.