Being targeted by people with PD's/toxic people...

• 18 Replies

StitchWitch

Being targeted by people with PD's/toxic people...
« on: December 04, 2017, 06:24:43 PM »
It's been awhile since I posted here but I find myself in a bad situation with someone who I thought had been a friend.

I met this woman through a political activism group. She seemed very intelligent, had a gentle and very chilled out demeanor, and was well spoken. Over the course of the past year, I've begun to realize she is far from my original impression. She was very interested in me because I am a graphic artist and she was running for local office. As you can imagine, she began asking me to donate campaign art, volunteer time, etc. As time went on, her requests became more frequent and urgent. She'd often message me late at night (like 10pm; I'm a bit of a night owl so I didn't mind at the time) asking me to make a poster for an event. On one such occasion she asked me to recreate someone else's campaign sign and add her name to the bottom.

For those of you not familiar with art and copyright laws, when an artist creates something, as soon as it's completed the law considers this work copyrighted. So, in essence, she was asking me to plagiarize someone else's art. I haven't even finished my BS in Digital Design -- I graduate in the spring -- so I am quite new to my industry. I am not currently employed either so asking a colleague for guidance was out of the question. Personally, I thought it was a gray area because it was campaign art so, despite that "pit of the stomach" feeling that this was wrong, I consented after she put a whole lot of pressure on me to do it for her.