Is this love bombing?

• 3 Replies

11JB68

Is this love bombing?
« on: May 25, 2018, 09:26:49 PM »
So I am pretty new to this. I have ODd in multiple parts of my life I think. NC with uPDm for about15 years, starting to try to unravel memories/behaviors etc....while also dealing with the realization that my h may be uOCPD. uPDm used to go was waaay overboard with gifts. Xmas was like...Xmas exploded in our living room....we had to set a boundary when it came to gifts for our Ds at Xmas... Partly for our collective mental health and partly due to sheer lack of space. The boundary of course was not honored. Was this love bombing or some other trait???

Fiasco

Re: Is this love bombing?
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2018, 11:48:10 PM »
We had to set the same boundary regarding Christmas. I think thatís the superiority complex these PDs have. I know my BPDm just wanted to be able to tell her friends (and herself) how she gave the best and the most gifts. She literally never cared if my kids actually liked or wanted the gifts.

I think of love bombing as a manipulative tactic. Right now BPDm is showering is with gifts because she wants something. She wants to be invited to visit and stay at our new house despite having been told if and when she visits she needs a hotel. Itís sickening the amount of gifts weíre receiving almost daily in the mail.

WomanInterrupted

• "They can't eat you" - Greg Proops
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2018, 02:59:18 AM »
With unBPD Didi and unNPD Ray, it was more along the lines of, "LOOK at all the stuff you got!  Aren't you the luckiest little girl alive!?  You should be SO THANKFUL we're such GOOD PARENTS!"

They equated stuff with love, so more stuff meant MORE love, right?   :barfy:

There was the added bonus they could brag about how much they *spoiled* me with the most, and the most expensive.   :roll: