Setting Boundaries

• 6 Replies

Absent Minded Artist

Setting Boundaries
« on: July 28, 2018, 12:01:57 PM »
I'm a newbie to the forums but not a newbie to PD. My mom has lived across the hall from me and my fiance for about a year, and now she is moving. I have decided to set the boundary that we will not be helping her move. I don't know how to approach the topic. I feel guilty saying no, even though I know my guilt is unjustified.

How do I set a firm boundary without throwing gas on the fire? I have a really hard time handling confrontation.

Thanks in advance!
"A manipulator makes you fear everyone around you so you don't see the monster right in front of you. They may have tied your blindfold, but you can take it off"
Erin Van Vuren

"Owning our story & loving ourselves through the process is the bravest thing we'll ever do"
Brenč Brown

Starboard Song

• Administrator
  • Be good. Be strong.
Re: Setting Boundaries
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2018, 12:12:26 PM »
If your mother has no friends to help, and no funds to purchase labor, then this is potentially a real dilemma.

But if she has either the friends or the funds to purchase Services, then the only reason this is a dilemma is that she thinks she can always expect the labor and assistance of you in everything she does, and that is just not true.

As another Forum member once said, you just "do boundaries." They are not about what your mother needs to like, understand, or want. They are about what it is that you will do and not do, and engage with or not engage with.

You have the right to very politely, very lovingly, explain that while you understand that the move is a big deal, you are unable to assist this time. You can suggest a place that she can call for professional assistance, or remind her of friends who might be able to help. You can even soften the blow by offering a substitute service. Like, making a phone call for her. Or picking up some packing materials for her to use.