Quick Intro- ask for help

• 4 Replies

AgileBSA

Quick Intro- ask for help
« on: July 30, 2018, 04:18:31 PM »
Hi everyone,

Happy to find a support group. I can say that it is reliving to find out about Paranoid personality disorder and that perhaps some of the issues in my marriage are not all my fault. 

My story... I am a 40something male with many kids and a loving wife. I work in IT consulting and my wife and I have been married for 22 years. Over that time I have struggled with and come to terms with some of my own mental health issues (ADHD) and my wife has been very supportive and helpful through that process. I have over the years been very conflicted by my wife's reactions to some of my issues and to her constantly feeling like people are 'out to get her' socially speaking. Over the past few months I have shifted my focus from trying to fix my ADHD issues (which are fairly mitigated at this point) to her and trying to find out if there are ways I can improve our relationship. That process has led me to realize that her behaviors are not just a 'bad reaction' to my ADHD, or just the over-reactions of a 'sensitive' person.. Rather, I have come to realize that she is living with PPD and those struggles are causing her to have an altered state of reality. The basic issues are that she will flip, almost instantly, without warning, from being kind, loving and caring to being suspicious, angry and attacking toward me and our teenage children. I look at it as she gets triggered, and while I have spend many hours trying to change the things that 'trigger' her I have come to realize that it's not the triggers that are the issue. After getting some education on PPD symptoms etc. I realize that she is living in a state of paranoia about me, our children and everyone around her. She does not trust us, and while she seems to trust us sometimes, I think she is actually just putting on the good wife hat, when deep down inside she is still guarded and worried, and will of