Biblical Boundaries

• 38 Replies

Mary

Biblical Boundaries
« on: August 09, 2018, 11:15:24 AM »
Hi everyone,
I am new to setting boundaries. I decided to start a list of boundaries that the Bible endorses with respect to PDs, as I think it will help give me backbone (for myself, not for justifying to someone else). I invite anyone else interested to help me create this list.
1. Make no friendship with an angry man; and with a furious man thou shalt not go (Prov 22:24):
2. Now I beseech you, brethren, mark them which cause divisions and offences contrary to the doctrine which ye have learned; and avoid them. (Romans 16:17)
3. Go from the presence of a foolish man, when thou perceivest not in him the lips of knowledge. (Prov 14:7)

For thy Maker is thine husband; the LORD of hosts is his name; and thy Redeemer the Holy One of Israel; The God of the whole earth shall he be called. (Isaiah 54:5)

Bloomie

• Administrator
Re: Biblical Boundaries
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2018, 12:29:53 PM »
Hi Mary. You are off to a great start with using God's word as a foundation in learning to set boundaries. There is a great article that I have found really helpful regarding boundaries from a Biblical perspective and I hope you find it helpful as well. It talks about both sides of boundary setting - with ourselves and in relationships with others.

Here is a link: https://bible.org/seriespage/1-boundary-basics

When I first began my coming OOTF journey what I began to realize was that the level of encroachment I allowed others into my intimate circles and gave access to the resources God had entrusted to me was not at all what I had been groomed to believe - loving, generous, Christlike, serving others... in actuality it was unhealthy and un-Biblical and made me prey to those who would use and take advantage of me for as long as they possibly could.