Finally had enough

• 4 Replies

Aerie

Finally had enough
« on: August 15, 2018, 08:57:08 PM »
Hi,

I'm new to the concept of DONM and have been reading everything I can find on the topic. Much like all of you who are adult children of a narcissistic parent, this information has been like a giant light bulb suddenly going off in my brain. All these years, I've struggled with finding the words to describe what my mother does, how she makes me feel, and why no one else (except my dad and husband) could ever see it. Even they could never put a label on it, or help me summarize what was happening. My dad always just called her "the crazy lady", and did his best to give me as close to a normal parenting relationship as he could, given his own issues. I have a brother, who is the GC, clearly codependent, enabling, and I'm beginning to see has his own narcissistic tendencies, including troubling signs of misogyny.

I started a Penzu private journal, as recommended by the author of a book I read on this topic, and it's definitely helped with the awareness and recognition stages of recovery. Unfortunately, I have trust issues, so discussing this stuff with my closest friends is not possible for me. My dad and husband are supportive, but again- have been victims of it themselves. My parents divorced several years ago, dad escaped 1400 miles away, and husband has his own set of narcissistic family members (mother & sister).  I'm seeing a therapist specifically to get help with being a DONM later this week, and am hopeful that he will have useful advice on how to deal with a NM. Unfortunately, NC is not an option, as she lives 5 miles away, so LC will be the best I can do.

I'm looking forward to finding support on this forum, learning how to recover, deal, and grow from the mess of being a DONM. I also want to make sure I stop the cycle of madness in my family, and not infect or expose my own precious children with this disorder.

Summer Sun

Re: Finally had enough