She's taking credit for my writing

Started by Writingthepain, March 01, 2019, 07:44:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Writingthepain

As a writer I bounce ideas and thoughts off others online and in person. One of those people is my npd mother. Who does have opinions on my writing (and on everything else) I mostly don't take on board those opinions but cos of that she's currently claiming that she has cowrote my books! Without writing a single word mind! I worry that if I ever hit the big time that she would insist on getting publicity and cut of the royalties

Amadahy

Hi, fellow writer! 🙂  I would not bounce ideas off your mom.  If the online program is something she frequents, you could still participate, but under a different name.  You could also publish under a pen name. 

As an aside, my Nmom critizes my writing.   :stars:  LOL.

Best wishes! 
Ring the bells that still can ring;
Forget your perfect offering.
There's a crack in everything ~~
That's how the Light gets in!

~~ Leonard Cohen

Adria

As a writer, myself, I agree with Amadahy. I would not filter anything through my npd mother. I would fear her intentions may not be honorable. Maybe you could find a writer's group near you to bounce ideas off from, or get in contact with another author to help, but probably not the Momma.
:no:
For a flower to blossom, it must rise from the dirt.

Andeza