Escalating aggression

Started by little-raisin, March 27, 2019, 07:14:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

little-raisin

Things are escalating, and I'm not sure what to do.  Last night, after we had both a drink in front of tv (not much, a glass of wine each) uNPDh and I had a minor rather strange discussion about towels.  I wouldn't even call it an argument or disagreement.  It was rather strange and without any point to it, but I could tell SO was getting 'frustrated' with me.  Frustrated is what he is, never angry, just frustrated.  I said he was acting a bit strange (bad move I know, I'm not very good at all the techniques for not engaging yet) and he kind of squared up to me with his arms crossed and gave me a menacing look and said 'really?'.  It felt aggressive and intimidating.  I backed off to try to de-escalate.  I don't know what else to do tbh.  Then we went to bed and nothing else was said.  This morning he's back to normal, and I try to be to.

But I didn't like it!  I don't want to have to back down because I'm scared of what's coming next.  I know from experience that trying to reason in those situations like last night only turns into something much bigger and much worse.  If I say something tonight after he comes home from work, that will either turn into another shitstorm or get blameshifted back on me.  So I just carry on as normal.  But things are not normal.  I'm shaking.

You kind experienced people, what would you have done in situation above, and what should I do now if anything ?

ICantThinkOfAName