Psychotherapy/Transactional Analysis (raised by waif uBPD mother)

Started by absolutelynope, June 19, 2019, 02:21:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

absolutelynope

Hi Everyone, newbie here! I can't believe how much I relate to so many posts on this forum!

I wonder if anyone recognises what I'm going through and has had success trying to do the same thing?

So my mother was widowed a few years ago and basically wants me to emotionally replace my father. Obviously not going to happen. But because I've been trained my entire life to make her happy, I'm having a lot of internal conflict about this. My psychotherapist has used 'Transactional Analysis' to help me understand this internal conflict. The Child is deathly afraid of my mother and will do anything to make her happy. The Adult just wants to be free from the obligtion and can see clearly that what she expects of me is not reasonable or realistic and the critical Adult just spends the entire time berating the child for not being a good enough daughter and for being weak.

He has said that I need to start being compassionate towards the child but I just don't feel like that could ever be possible. I hate her! She is completely pathetic, shes a doormat. She is the golden child and when I let her have the final say, my mother's attitude towards me improves dramatically. I feel like the adult is the scapegoat. I have no siblings so it's almost like the sibling conflict you sometimes get with a PD Parent is happening internally.

treesgrowslowly

Hi newbie. Welcome!

This approach is discussed in the book the body keeps the score. I have found it helpful.