Slowly coming Out of the FOG, with a bonus brain tumor subplot

Started by HS25362, May 18, 2019, 10:11:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

HS25362

Hello! I've been lurking for a bit, but this is my first time posting. As I reflect on what has been the (not to be hyperbolic) weirdest/worst year of my life, I think it might help me to write out everything that's happened in one (or two) place(s). Even if no one reads this whole long thing, I'm hoping it will make me feel a little more grounded. Or at least I can send it to my therapist when I find a new one.  :)

To start: a little over exactly a year ago, I was unexpectedly diagnosed with a brain tumor. That's quite the shock for anyone, let alone a 20-something relatively healthy woman halfway through a PhD program with no obvious symptoms. (The doctor who set off my whole diagnosis process was an ophthalmologist who noted I had swollen optic nerves after I complained about seeing occasional flashes of light). Two months after that appointment with the ophthalmologist I was to have brain surgery to remove the tumor. My prognosis was good, but of course being diagnosed with something so intense with no obvious signs was a real existential gut punch.

I actually blogged quite a bit, and publicly, about my diagnosis, surgery, and recovery process. A year later, I'm tumor-free and in good shape, with just a little bit of (likely temporal lobe) epilepsy from damage caused by the tumor. What I didn't talk about publicly was my coming-out-of-the-fog in relation to my uBPD mother.