Changing my perspective: looking for Significance within instead of externally

Started by Xena, May 29, 2019, 04:11:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Xena

Hi, Y'all

I'm new here, so here's a little bit of background before I get on topic: I've been working my way Out of the FOG for around 5 years now (NC for those 5 years with my NPDf and in the process of going VLC with my NPDm). During the last 5 years, I lost (i.e. realized I never had) the support of my dad and all of his side of the family. He's the undisputed GC of his family and I was immediately 100% blacklisted for finally standing up to him and his dangerous rages. I'm a parent now, so that served to open my eyes to the crazy. He's been like that for years, though, and I was just expected to put up with it. Through all of this, I was blindsided by my mom and her side of the family telling me it is up to me to fix it all in order to have the Hallmark Channel Happy Movie Ending that they require. (This would be me going back to being a doormat and my dad not having to take responsibility for his behavior  :no: ) My parents have been divorced for many years and have not seen each other for at least 10 or so years, but my mom automatically defended him without having been there to witness the dangerous rages, which were getting worse as he got older...