I tried too hard

Started by TriedTooHard, May 17, 2019, 08:44:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TriedTooHard

Hello,

I've been researching the subject of personality disorders for about 10 years.  I believe there is undiagnosed NPD and BPD on both sides of my family of origin.  Specifically, one or more of my 4 grandparents (all deceased), one or both of my elderly parents, and one or two of my siblings.  While there have been some horrific incidents of abuse and dysfunction perpetrated by these people, they're actually not as disordered as some others I've heard about.  Because PDs are on a spectrum, and some people may just have traits of a PD without actually being PD'd, and I myself am not always a "day at the beach", I have been very confused as to how to deal with these people.

About 6 years ago (I forget exactly when), I found this site, registered, and participated heavily.  Back then, I needed to hash over some of the more disturbing incidents of physical abuse I had undergone.  I was extremely angry and this site really helped me to calm down.  But after, I was embarrassed, so I changed my name and eventually stopped posting.  I went to therapy, went to co-dependents anonymous meetings, and even met some great women at some meetups for daughters of narcissistic mothers.  While involved in all that, I started healing and seeing great improvements in my life.  But, I also realized that there are much more hideous forms of PDs out there than my relatives.